Gifting the Force

IMG_0362

Whenever I meet someone new or if it is a time of gift-giving, I always have an intense desire to make something…to put my time and heart and creativity into something that was made especially for the receiver.

So it felt perfectly natural that I chose to dedicate myself to only giving handmade gifts this past holiday season. I had a relatively short list of people to give gifts to, which made the goal within my reach.

But there was a problem.

The problem wasn’t in physically making the gifts… The real problem lay in figuring out what to make.

IMG_0360

My three year old nephew was the one that really stumped me. Like most other kids, he already had a ton of toys and books, and I felt certain he didn’t need a knitted hat or scarf.

Besides, what a boring gift for a three year old, right?

I scoured the interwebs for the perfect idea – not knowing really what I was looking for. Then I stumbled across some knitted and crocheted Star Wars things on Pinterest and it hit me…

Of course! Star Wars!

IMG_0366

My nephew and his dad (my brother-in-law) both LOVE Star Wars. So I kept searching and I found exactly what I had been looking for –

A FREE CROCHET YODA PATTERN.

Free. Yoda. Pattern.

I don’t think I could have been any luckier. This pattern helped me to create a relatively large Yoda doll for my nephew that had Love woven into every single stitch.

A grand and sincere Thanks to AH! Creations for her amazing pattern and for posting it for the world to enjoy her talents for free. I bet there are many happy children out in the world that are one Yoda richer.

IMG_0353

I would love to hear from you! Have you made any fun toys lately for kids you love?

Materials used:
-One skein each of Red Heart Super Saver in Aran, Coffee, and Frosty Green
-Boye metal “G” Hook
-Stuffing

2 thoughts on “Gifting the Force

Leave a Reply

